A Written Response to Hurtful Comments

I came up with the idea to do this because last night I had a very rough conversation with my friends about my support to the LGBTQ+ community. Long story short, my mum ended up shouting from the other room that it was a shame she wasn’t able to raise me with principles.

This hurt a little bit; I’m not going to lie. I have principles; they just involve not hating on another human being.

I had such a hard time falling asleep because I kept coming up with things I wish I could have responded but that on the spot, I wasn’t able to say.

Then, I started thinking about all the other comments I’d heard about the LGBTQ+ community and how those still affect me to some degree today.

So here are the responses I wish I could have given those times I chose to stay quiet. Bear in mind, this is meant to be fun and cathartic, not insulting (Maybe a little):

“I don’t think you’re gay”tenor

This one I heard both from my sister and my ex-boyfriend when I came out to them.

To my sister I say:

“Huh?” also, “What would make you believe I liked girls? Do I need to like, start talking about how hot they are around you? I don’t need to prove my attraction or treat women like sexual objects, we get enough of that from men.

Also, do I need to start wearing more flannel or maybe a denim jacket? (See what I did there?) Maybe I should tattoo a rainbow across my forehead and start wearing Docks? Would that be enough for you? I still love you.”

To my ex-boyfriend I say: “You can’t tell a person’s sexuality based on a limited number of intimate moments. You’ve grown up thinking that you’d be less of a man if you weren’t able to please me sexually, this has nothing to do with you.”

“They commit suicide because they know there’s something wrong with them”

“Or because you’re a dickhead and make our lives impossible.”

“Would you not want to kill yourself if everyone around you started hating you? If your friends stopped talking to you or if your family rejected you? Would you not want to die if you had been taught from a young age that loving someone from your own sex was wrong, yet find yourself doing exactly that, years later?

What if you fell in love with someone your own sex right now? After all you’ve said about the LGBTQ+ community, I’m pretty sure you’d want to die as well. I’d be there for you though, because I know how tough it is and because I know what it feels like to have no one, not even you.”

tenor1

“Those people are frustrated and angry.”

“With you.”

“Homosexuality is a demonic possession”

“If demons are sin and every single sin has a demon, then I’m pretty sure you’re possessed by many as well.

I’m also quite sure the sin of Pride doesn’t refer to being proud of who you are, as the LGBTQ+ community is. I’m sure it refers to being unable to accept other opinions but your own, believing that your word is the only one that matters and believing you are better than everyone else because of your beliefs and dominance. That, my friend, is the sin of the devil.

So if I’m possessed by a demon, are you possessed by the devil?

I think I’m staying far away from you, you scary shit.”

“It’s okay to be gay; you just have to abstain from sex. It’s the cross you have to carry, like those with pedophilia or a mental illness”

“Oh how nice of you.

So you’re saying you accept gay people, the same way you accept a pedophile or someone with mental illness, well thank you. I have both depression and anxiety, are those the kind of mental illnesses you’re referring to? Because if they are then I’m screwed.

I think though, that you’re referring to people with psychosis or sociopathy, or something of that sort, in which case most are actually okay people, not the kind you see in movies, also they can get pretty effective medical treatment. I can’t. People aren’t to be looked down upon, in any of the cases you mentioned. People are still people and they deserve your love, respect and, if you are able to, your help.

Also, I think you say gay people should abstain from sex because all sex outside of marriage is bad right? Like if I had sex with a man right now, you’d still be upset because I’m not married. Sex is meant to be done only when someone is married, and gay people can’t get married can they? So they have to stay celibate forever.

I would understand those principles if they were applied to everyone, but you’ve been bragging about sleeping with that lovely girl over there and you’re not married. Shouldn’t you be carrying that cross as well? Maybe it’s more acceptable that you do it because you can get married someday; well why not just let gay people get married then?”

“You’re going to hell.”

ritter

“I think it’s most likely that I’m there because I just really want to punch your face right now… WAIT, if women who wear short skirts are sinning because they’re tempting men, then are you sinning for tempting me to hate you?

I guess I’ll see you there.”

“The bible says it’s wrong and you need to stop interpreting it to your advantage.”

“Same.”

“Don’t be gay.”

This is usually said as in insult when someone does something that is considered to lessen their masculinity like giving another man a hug or not being attracted to the female all the others are attracted to. Where I’m from they say “No seas culero”, which literally means, “Don’t be a butt liker.”

When you translate it to English, it loses its meaning doesn’t it? I think whatever I was gonna say is just meaningless right now because I’m still laughing at that translation.

“Being gay isn’t an insult, loving butts is definitely not an insult, if you think it is, then let me remind you of that time you said you liked my butt.”

“Being gay is an illness, a perversion.”

tumblr_inline_mrr0qwscxh1qz4rgp

“In 1973 the American Psychiatric Association removed homosexuality from the list of mental illnesses. They realized they were being quite primitive with that diagnosis. Keep up.”

“Marriage is between a man and a woman, everything else is unnatural.”

“This is why homosexuality is present in more than 1,500 animal species. Here’s the list if you want to check it out. I’m sure God made all those “mistakes” that serve the evolutionary purpose of taking care of the young that the “straight” animals abandoned. Oh sorry, I didn’t mean to offend you, I’m sure you left your pregnant girlfriend because you were superior to an animal.”

“Sex is when a penis enters a vagina. Other forms aren’t true forms of sex.”

“Have you tried them? I think you should try them.”

giphy

“Ew.”

“I happen to find plenty of other things more disgusting than homosexuality. Like your attitude.”

“Ellen Degenerate.”

“GET. OUT.”

Okay, so this turned out to be a lot more fun and liberating than I was expecting. I hope you enjoyed reading those as much as I enjoyed writing them.

Comment, share and all that (I sound like a youtuber now.)

As always, all the love,

Charlie.

(Instagram, Pinterest, Tumblr and Twitter: andadenimjacket

Spotify: charliesdenimjacket)

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Written Response to Hurtful Comments

Leave a Reply

